A Perfect Sears Hollywood…………..in Enid Oklahoma!

I can’t even begin to explain my excitement when I discovered a Sears Hollywood in Oklahoma.  Within a couple of days I made the two hour drive one way just to see and get photos of this awesome house!  Why so excited?  At this point there are only a few known and documented Sears Hollywoods.   Sears homes in Oklahoma are few and far between and to find such a perfect and rare model is unbelievable.

This beautiful bungalow is in Enid, Oklahoma.  Enid’s history runs deep, back to the days of the Land RunEnid is the county seat of Garfield County and also in an area known as the Cherokee Outlet.  I hope you enjoy this beautiful and rare Sears bungalow.

This Sears Hollywood/2069 was built in 1918

This Sears Hollywood/2069 was built in 1918

 

The Sears Hollywood from my 1918 catalog

The Sears Hollywood from my 1918 catalog

 

You may have noticed that the larger catalog image and the actual house don’t really match.  Good eye!  Let me explain.  The Sears “Hollywood” was first offered in 1914 as model 264P234.  It was a copy of a bungalow pattern from the west coast by possibly an architect named Jud Yoho.  Jud Yoho has this same bungalow as early as 1910 and I have found examples of it in Los Angeles in a neighborhood developed in 1911 using his patterns.  It is definitely not a Sears original!  In 1918 Sears began giving their homes names instead of numbers and it became the “Hollywood” … perhaps because of its ties to Los Angeles?   The house had a slight external makeover and a new dormer but  the floorplan remained the same.   Sears gave that alternate model a number, 2069.   The Sears Hollywood in Enid is the alternate version of the Hollywood, number 2069.

The Sears Hollywood alternate 2069 was first available in 1918

The Sears Hollywood alternate 2069 was first available in 1918

 

 The Sears 2069 (Hollywood) in Enid is a PERFECT match!

The Sears 2069 (Hollywood) in Enid is a PERFECT match!

 

As you can see in my photos it was cold that day, brutal cold. As I was taking pictures the homeowner came outside to see what I was so excited about. When I told him I had driven from Tulsa just to see THIS house he invited me to see the inside! My heart skipped a beat. Not only did I get to see the outside but the inside as well. It is absolutely gorgeous. The woodwork is original and not white. To see the interior go to the album I created for this house on facebook.   Continue scrolling to see more exterior photos!

The Sears Hollywood/2069 in Enid Oklahoma

The Sears Hollywood/2069 in Enid Oklahoma

 

I came equipped with zoom lens so that I could get the back of the house from the alley or the side street. However,  since the homeowners were very gracious in showing me their home  I didn’t have to shoot from the alley!   The catalog doesn’t show the floor plan for the second floor and only mentions a sleeping balcony. I just had to get that sleeping balcony!   I really appreciate my tour because I now know what the second floor layout is, that is not seen in ANY of the catalogs! The Hollywood was discontinued in 1923. I hope you enjoy the following photos that I would never had been able to get without the owners permission. Contrary to popular belief, I only shoot from the public right of way. I do NOT enter on to the property without the owners’ permission…EVER.

A rare view of the Sears Hollywood/2069. The sleeping balcony is directly above the sleeping porch.  Now THAT's MY kinda house :)

A rare view of the Sears Hollywood/2069.
The sleeping balcony is directly above the sleeping porch.  Now THAT’s MY kinda house :)

 

I LOVE this sleeping balcony!

I LOVE this sleeping balcony!

 

I got this great shot of an eaves bracket while standing on the sleeping balcony!

I got this great shot of an eaves bracket while standing on the sleeping balcony!

 

Here's a close-up of that second floor dormer.  That second floor room is awesome!

Here’s a close-up of that second floor dormer. That second floor room is awesome!

 

Those eaves brackets are common on Sears kit homes.

Those eaves brackets are common on Sears kit homes.

 

Columns on the Sears Hollywood

Columns on the Sears Hollywood

[caption id="attachment_1839" align="aligncenter" width="640"] Hollywood Porch Column

Hollywood Porch Column

 

 Hollywood porch column on the fireplace side.  Notice the small window, that was a change made in 1918.  The early model didn't have that small window or the bench seat under it inside.

The Hollywood porch column on the fireplace side. Notice the small window, that was a change made in 1918.  The early model didn’t have that small window or the bench seat under it inside.

 

Isn’t that the most beautiful and perfect Sears Hollywood ever? Look at the next few images to see where the Sears Hollywood originated, where Sears “borrowed” the pattern. This was common. In the early years kit home companies often used patterns from other architects.

I’m one of those people who analyze everything. Everything!

The Sears 1914 model 264P234.  The first year this model was offered.

The Sears 1914 model 264P234. The first year this model was offered.

 

Jud Yoho #466 1910-11

Jud Yoho #466 1910-11

 

Is there anyone in L.A. that would get some photos of this 1911 house for me?  :)

Is there anyone in L.A. that would get some photos of this 1911 house for me? :)

 

These two houses *might* be Jud Yoho. I know they aren’t from Sears!

Is there anyone in L.A. that would get some photos of this 1911 house for me?  :)

Is there anyone in L.A. that would get some photos of this 1911 house for me? :)

 

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country, Kit Homes of Oklahoma, Plan Book Houses, The Cherokee Outlet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Perfect Sears Hollywood…………..in Enid Oklahoma!

  1. Dale Wolicki says:

    Oh neat! I have only seen one Hollywood before (Mishawaka Indiana I think) but it didn’t look as perfect as this Enid Hollywood.

    Btw, how would you describe a “brutal cold day” in Oklahoma? Tonight here in Michigan its negative 8 with a negative 22 wind chill, which we would describe as merely “cold”.

    • That’s MY kind of weather! I might actually have to wear a coat with those temps.
      I love the cold. Big snow storm coming this weekend, 2 inches :-D.

      Any chance you have a photo? Or, do I have to google drive Mishawaka Indiana? LOL

  2. Pingback: The Sears #118, A VERY Popular Early Sears Modern Home | Oklahoma Houses By Mail

  3. Lois Guffy says:

    My sister has an old Sears home in Cherokee OK. It is in bad need of repairs and they are just now starting to clear the grounds and renovate the house. At one time this was quite a home. I have as ye to find one that looks like it. Some are close.

Leave a Reply

