The Sears Arlington in Tulsa

The Sears Arlington in Tulsa

This house is located in Owen Park.  This is probably my most favorite.  If there is such a thing as a house crush, I have one for this house!

I used to work at fire station #2, 524 W. Edison which is located by Owen Park.  It’s a great station, built into a hill and it has two slide poles! Wheeeee!!!  When it was my turn to drive the BART, big ass red truck, I drove the scenic route back to the station.  I absolutely loved the houses in that part of town.  Many are in poor condition but all they need is a little love. This house is located right off of Edison and I passed it many times.  I liked this house because it was unique, it was like no other house on the block or in the neighborhood.  This house has personality!  This house makes a statement.

At the time I had no idea it was a kit home, I didn’t even know what a kit home was.  In fact I never even gave a thought to researching houses.  Shortly after I bought Rosemary’s books I bought Houses By Mail.  If you want to identify Sears houses this is another book you are going to have to have!  This book was published in 1986 by the National Trust for Historic Preservation and is need of an update but it is the only collection of all of the models offered by Sears between 1908 and 1940. When I bought this book the first thing I did was thumb through it. I landed on the page of the Arlington. Wow!  I knew immediately that we had this house and I knew exactly where it was.

I sat in front of the house one afternoon comparing the house image in the book to the house in front of me.  I didn’t have a verbal description to go by like I did the Woodland but I had a picture and a floor plan.  There is no mistaking that dormer, it is very unique which you will notice in my photos.  Another thing to look for will be the window arrangement, particularly with this house.  I compared the windows with the floorplan.  The left side of this house is not shown in the catalog image but you can tell where they are located by the floor plan.  The left side is very interesting.  There are a lot of windows and they are arranged in a unique way.  This is one of those houses that once you see it you will never ever forget it.

I dream of owning this house someday.  If it ever hits the market and the price is fair….I might just try to buy it.
I just hope and pray that it is never wrapped in vinyl or aluminum siding. I would pull off that 1940’s siding and restore it to it’s original exterior. Something tells me this house still retains most of its original features. What I wouldn’t give to tour the inside!

Check out the catalog image and compare.  Look at that dormer, you don’t see a dormer like that on just any house.

Take a look at the window arrangement on the left side of the house.  This is the side where the stairs are located.  That crazy window arrangement will not easily be forgotten!

The left side, stair side, of the Tulsa Sears Arlington

Now compare the window arrangement with that of the floorplan. That’s one thing you want to do when identifying a kit home from any catalog company. These were kits and not altered very often. This house has a double kitchen window instead of single. That is a simple modification.

Sears Arlington Catalog Image with Floorplan

Just for grins do a google image search for Sears Arlington and see what you find! I know there are others out there because that is another thing I do when I find a house.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

