Wardway Homes #105, Tulsa and Wagoner Oklahoma

Wardway Homes were the kit homes sold through Montgomery Ward.  They sold approximately 25,000-30,000 homes from 1910-1931. I expect to find fewer of the Wardway homes around here than Sears and Aladdin.  Their home catalogs are scarce too! I have six home catalogs and one building materials catalog in my collection.  Don’t fret if you can’t find the original catalogs because Rosemary Thornton and Dale Wolicki have a field guide you can purchase.  I highly recommend this book, Montgomery Ward’s Mail-Order Homes.

Like I said, I don’t expect to find very many Wardway homes.  We do have a Wardway #105 in Tulsa.  I am told that this is a rare house itself.  Dale said he has only seen two or three in all of his years.

What do you think of this house?  I am not happy with that siding but back in its day it was a really nice house!  With some love it could be once again. The assessor records say 1915, probably so. It is in my 1915 catalog which you can see below.

A Wardway #105 in Tulsa, Okla. Thanks to my friend Rosemary Thornton for finding this via google driving.

I was nosing around Wagoner one day via google driving and I found that there is a Wardway #105 in Wagoner, Oklahoma too!
I’m thinking with that kind of luck I should have purchased a lottery ticket that day! I immediately made the short 30 minute or so drive to get photos and see what else I could find. Wagoner has a myriad of rail road tracks running all over town.

This is the Wardway #105 in Wagoner and I believe it was either abandoned or in pre-foreclosure. I certainly hope it is okay. I haven’t seen it since I found it last fall.

This Wardway #105 in Wagoner, Oklahoma appeared to be either abandoned or in pre-foreclosure.

As you can see the Tulsa and Wagoner house are reversed. That was an option.

Here is a back view of the Wagoner Wardway #105. Since it was on the corner I was able to get good photos of the side.  You can see there is a dormer on this side too, make a mental note of that.

The back and side of the Wardway #105 in Wagoner Oklahoma

The Wardway #105 is a pretty distinct little house. I think once you see it you will remember it. It has a fairly thin steep pitch front gable with two or three  narrow windows on the front second floor. There is a low sloping shed dormer on each side.  One side will have two bumped out areas. One is in the living room and one is in the dining room.  the catalog image doesn’t show that but you can see it in the floor plan.  Those boxed windows will more than likely each have a double window.  If the windows have been replaced you might find a single wider window on each.

The Wardway #105 from their 1915 catalog

All of the materials were furnished for $827 bucks! And if needed Wardway offered mortgages too as did many of the companies.

This is their 1915 catalog. The Tulsa house has a date of 1915.

Montgomery Ward Book of Homes 1915

I normally recommend a google image search but there are only three images published and you have seen two already. You can do it though and you will see one of Dale Wolicki’s finds.

Unfortunately I do not know who originally lived in these two houses.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wardway Homes #105, Tulsa and Wagoner Oklahoma

  1. matt farmer says:

    I own one. M.a.farmer@att.net if you have questions money pit. But very unique house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

