The Aladdin Massachusetts, Tulsa Oklahoma

“A distinctly original type following swiss lines, yet this beautiful structure is perfectly adapted to modern ideas of what an American home should be.”  That is the description given to the Aladdin Massachusetts when it was first offered in their 1913 catalog.   I love reading the descriptions leading in to the Aladdin homes! The Aladdin Massachusetts was offered in 1913, 1914, 1915, and 1916.  In 1917 Aladdin  made a few changes and it became the Shadow Lawn.  They offered the Shadow Lawn every year from 1917-1922.  It became one of their most popular models.

Here is the catalog cover of my 1914 Aladdin catalog which features the Massachusetts on the front and through out the catalog.

Aladdin 1914 features the Massachusetts on the front cover

I have found what I believe just might be an Aladdin Massachusetts just west of downtown Tulsa.

Aladdin Massachusetts west of downtown Tulsa.

Isn’t it beautiful? I wonder if it was a farm back in the day? And it was built just a stones throw from the railroad tracks!  Wouldn’t it be fun to trim the trees and pose some people and get a photo like the front of the catalog?

And another little secret, I think the house across from it is an Aladdin Plaza!  That’s another blog on another day.

Take a look at the catalog image from my 1914 catalog. That’s so close it gives me goosebumps!

Catalog image from 1914 shows the house and the floorplan.

Aladdin Massachusetts showing a better view of the window arrangement and the dining room bay window. That bay window disappeared in the Shadow Lawn in 1917

One of the neat things about the 1914 catalog is that they show a few interior photos of the Massachusetts. Let’s look at those now.

The Aladdin Massachusetts Living Room measures 30’x16′

This photo shows the front left corner bedroom and the dining room which is directly behind the living room.  You can see the bay window to the right.  Usually there is a bench there unless it was left out or removed at some point. The door to the left goes in to the kitchen.

The Aladdin Massachusetts Dining Room and bedroom

Inside front 1914 Aladdin catalog.

I couldn’t get a photo from the angle above, unless I trespassed, because of the trees. Maybe someday I will meet the homeowner and they will let me get better photos.

Aladdin Massachusetts in Tulsa, beautiful!

I sure would love to meet the owner! Do you know the owner? If so send them this blog. Or, maybe you ARE the owner? Send me a message if you would like more information on this house.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Aladdin Massachusetts, Tulsa Oklahoma

  1. Mark W. Poole says:

    THANK YOU for posting this information. I’m pretty certain that my parent’s house is a Massachusetts but in mirror-image design from the one in the picture, and it also has a garage in the back. The address is 302 N. Roane St., Webb City, Missouri.

    Like

    • Hello again!

      The difference between the two houses are the measurements and room arrangement. Is the bathroom on the right side upstairs? It appears to be from Bing view. That is where the Massachusetts bathroom is and the Shadow lawn is in the back. I don’t see a bathroom window in the back of your parents’ house. It is likely a Massachusetts from what I see from the exterior. If you take measurements you will be able to determine which model it is.

      Like

  2. Mark Poole says:

    Hello Rachel! I’ve finally taken several pictures of my Massachusetts in Webb City if you’re still interested in doing an article. I also have copies of the original sales receipts from Aladdin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

