Gordon Van Tine #108 Testimonial Houses

Another one of my interests is finding mail order homes across the country. I don’t care where they are I just like to find them! I call it practice. And this is the way I see it, it helps me learn the various houses. One way I “practice” is to locate the homes in testimonials that folks sent in to the company. Another way I “practice” is by helping others identify their house.
This past summer a lady posted in the Sears group looking to identify her Gordon Van Tine farmhouse. She didn’t have any photos to post but gave a description and the year it was built. From her description I knew it was one of two houses possibly three. I scanned three houses from my 1913 catalog.

Gordon Van Tine 1913 catalog

Gordon Van Tine 1913 catalog

 

She knew she had a Gordon Van Tine house because she found the lumber marked with the Gordon Van Tine identification. She was told it was a Sears house. I posted the three possible Gordon van Tine houses I thought she might have on facebook for her to see. She identified her house as the #108 without a doubt. I emailed her a copy of that model in exchange for her sending me photos when she could get them. It was very late here in Tulsa, Oklahoma and I had no idea where she lived.

Gordon Van Tine #108 from the 1913 catalog

Gordon Van Tine #108 from the 1913 catalog

 

The next day I get a message from her and she tells me that her house was owned by none other than Ward Bloss who’s testimonial was published in the 1913 catalog! NO WAY!!! How exciting. A testimonial house practically landed in my lap 🙂 I usually go to great lengths to find them. In the meantime I had already started researching both men in the testimonials the night before to see if I could find their house and what they did.  It was a very late night for me and I didn’t even know exactly what I had just identified….a testimonial house that was 100 years old!!!
Here is that testimonial from Ward Bloss

Ward Bloss 1913 Testimonial

Ward Bloss 1913 Testimonial

 

Ward Bloss and his wife Florence were originally from New York.  They built their house in Salem, Wi in 1912.  Ward was a farmer. B July 4, 1848 D Sept 26 1920.

Ward Bloss and his wife Florence were originally from New York. They built their house in Salem, Wi in 1912. Ward was a farmer. B July 4, 1848 D Sept 26 1920.

 

Here are a couple of pictures that the current owner, Collen Chuipek, sent me.

Ward Bloss's 1912 Gordon Van Tine  #108 in Salem Wisconsin

Ward Bloss’s 1912 Gordon Van Tine #108 in Salem Wisconsin

 

Ward Bloss's Gordon Van Tine #108 Side View.  Thanks for the photos Colleen!

Ward Bloss’s Gordon Van Tine #108 Side View. Thanks for the photos Colleen!

 

Take a look at that sash window on the second floor bay window. I found that window in a Gordon Van Tine Building Material catalog for comparison.  The catalog image shows it in the attic. Switching the two windows would be no big deal.

Gordon Van Tine Sash Window "Regent"

Gordon Van Tine Window “Regent”

 

Do you know of a Gordon Van Tine #108? Do you know of any mail order kit homes or do you need help identifying one? If so message me here. I have a collection of 75+ vintage mail order home catalogs and I would be happy to help you!

Do you think I found the other testimonial house in the 1913 catalog, the one belonging to GB Moon? (Below) Come back in a few days to see 😉

Gordon Van Tine #108 GB Moon Testimonial

Gordon Van Tine #108 GB Moon Testimonial

 

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gordon Van Tine #108 Testimonial Houses

  1. Benjamin Sowers says:

    I recently purchased a Gordon-Van Tine four square home. We were originally told it was a Sears. Upon inspection of the baseboard we found the GVT name and the gentleman who bought

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Hi Rachel,

    We just made an offer on a house and somebody told us that this is most likely is a Sears House.
    According to the county online records it was build in 1903, but this can be few years off, because the owners used to have another house on this land and replaced it with this one.
    Here are few outside pictures:


    and the listing has some inside pictures:
    http://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-detail/24625-103rd-St_Salem_WI_53168_M81947-64984

    Could you please help us identify this house? Current owners have no information about it, they bought it just 10 years ago.

    Thank you!
    Sandra

    Like

    • Hi Sandra, I don’t think this is a kit home. I know it’s not from Sears and I don’t recognize it from any other companies. Is it possible they purchased some of the lumber and building materials from a catalog company such as Sears?

      Like

      • Sandra says:

        Thanks, Rachel.
        Anything is possible 🙂 I will look for any identifying marks during the inspection, maybe something is still there.

        Like

      • Sandra says:

        By the way, this house is in the same city (Salem, Wisconsin) as the Gordon Van Tine you wrote about.

        Like

  3. Gordon Van Tine published their first catalog of home plans in 1907. I have that catalog and double checked. Nothing resembling this house is in that catalog either. :/

    Like

  4. Pingback: Gordon Van Tine #108 Testimonial Houses Part II | Oklahoma Houses By Mail

Leave a Reply

