Gordon Van Tine #108 Testimonial Houses Part II

Creative Commons License

A couple of days ago I told you about a testimonial house from Gordon Van Tine’s 1913 catalog. It was the Ward Bloss #108. If you didn’t read it you might want to go back and read it since this is a continuation of that blog.
In that same catalog on the same page there are two testimonials.

The testimonials for Gordon van Tine #108 from the 1913 catalog.

The testimonials for Gordon van Tine #108 from the 1913 catalog.

 

I set out to find the GB Moon house in Manson Iowa. Usually that is all I need, a name and a state. If a city is mentioned it makes my start easier.

Mr. GB Moon's testimonial about his #108 in the 1913 catalog.  I guess he told them (the other company). Afterall, he was just too old to not do business on the square.  He was 59 in 1912

Mr. GB Moon’s testimonial about his #108 in the 1913 catalog. I guess he told them (the other company) Afterall, he was just too old to not do business on the square. He was 59 in 1912 .

 

So I had a name and a city and state. Finding Gaylord B Moon was easy. Finding his house was not so easy. Come to find out Manson Ia is not google mapped. That’s a BIG problem! Add that to the fact that Mr Moon was no longer in Manson Iowa by 1920. The only way I could find where his house was built was from the platte information.

This is the platte for GB Moon's property.  With this I determined a street and approximate house number.  Did you notice house close he was to the train station?

This is the platte for GB Moon’s property. With this I determined a street and approximate house number. Did you notice how close he was to the train station?

 

 

Knowing approximately where his house was located all I had to do was find someone to go get a photo. I then set out to research Manson Ia. I messaged a few people on facebook and I found the city library website. I sent a message to the library. A lady was very kind and responded with some bad news. It seems that Manson Ia was almost completely blown off the map by a F4 tornado in 1979 and most of the old historic houses were gone now. My heart sank. She said she would check that location when I sent her the platte and a photo of the house and address where I thought it should be. I heard back from her and she said she thought it was still there. She got busy and we emailed a few times and I got busy and a few months went by. I picked it up again and decided to try to see if I could find assessors records. Luck was with me! I found the records with a photograph. I found my house and the address is 1613 10th Ave. I was extremely excited to find BOTH testimonial houses in the 1913 catalog.  I felt like I had completed a college assignment. 🙂  I sent the lady at the library the address and she sent me a couple of beautiful fall photos.

1613 10 Th Ave Manson Ia. Gordon Van Tine #108 testimonial house of Gaylord B Moon .  A special thanks to Ann from the Manson Library.

1613 10 Th Ave Manson Ia. Gordon Van Tine #108 testimonial house of Gaylord B Moon . A special thanks to Ann from the Manson Library.

 

Gaylord B Moon  B Dec 29  1853  D July 5 1936

Gaylord B Moon
B Dec 29 1853
D July 5 1936

 

What a beautiful house!  I bet Gaylord B Moon was proud.  I wonder if the current owners know about their house?  I hope someone in Manson reads this and tells them.

What a beautiful house! I bet Gaylord B Moon was proud. I wonder if the current owners know about their house? I hope someone in Manson reads this and tells them. And once again I am deeply grateful for Ann at the Manson Library who took time to take photos and send them to me.

 

 

I hope you have enjoyed reading about two testimonial houses from Gordon Van Tine. I know I sure enjoy researching them. I am going to leave you with one last image that I created with both houses and testimonials. This is a summary of both testimonials.

 Both testimonials and their respective houses as they look today 100 years after they were built.

Both testimonials and their respective houses as they look today 100 years after they were built. Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful.  This has been one of my favorite discoveries to date.

 

 

Do you live in a Gordon Van Tine home? Please message me here. I would love to see photos. If you have a kit home of any company and need help identifying it message me and I will help you as well.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gordon Van Tine #108 Testimonial Houses Part II

  1. Mark Hardin says:

    This is a fascinating story Rachel. I wonder just how many of these testimonial houses exist?

    Like

    • I have more to post so keep a watch. Let’s see how many we can find! Maybe someone will read about them and send in actual photos. I have another blog about a Sears Flossmore and its Gordon Van Tine version and I used screen shots. Hoping someone will send in actual photos.

      Like

  2. Sherry Dennewitz says:

    Hi Rachel, My name is Sherry Dennewitz. Gaylord Blair Moon is my 2x Great GrandFather. I’m so excited that you researched these homes. When I first started searching My Families History and I found the Catalog page and My Grt.Grt. GrandFathers letter about working on the Square, I thought “a house out of a catalog !…really?”
    But after seeing the pictures in Color, and that is still standing ! Its a Beautiful Home. Looks like its been well kept, too.
    If you would like a little bit of History about Gaylord Blair Moon, I will help you with what I have.
    Again “Thank You” !
    Sincerely, Sherry

    Like

    • Hi Sherry! I’m glad you found my blog. My family tree for GB Moon doesn’t show much I know but it was enough for me to find his house and for me to leave enough information that anyone researching him would know about his GVT #108. The catalog page you found was what I uploaded to the family tree I created.
      I have located several of these testimonial homes like this, most of them, only a few will make it to my blog. Some end up in albums on my facebook page. Some have ancestry trees. I’m glad you found this information, in my experience, most of the descendants who find my information had no idea their family had a kit home!
      If you want to learn about kit homes join our group on facebook, click here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

