Aladdin Pomona in North Enid, Oklahoma

The Aladdin Pomona I found in North Enid has a very interesting story. The Aladdin Pomona was ordered in 1919 according to the Hattiesburg 1919 index. I only have the information from the sales index on this house.  I don’t have the actual sales order so I  contacted the Clarke Historical Library to see if it is there and discovered that all that exists for that year is that very index. Aladdin  indexed their sales alphabetically and by the year. That index has been just as helpful as the sales orders.  Like I have said before, all I need is a name and a City, State and I can probably find it.  Aladdin was out of Bay City Michigan but had a mill in Hattiesburg Mississippi. I have a theory that the majority of the Aladdins shipped to Oklahoma came from the Hattiesburg Mill. This map shows the location of the mills.

Aladdin Map of Mills

Aladdin Map of Mills

I hope you enjoy the story of a farming family and Oklahoma pioneers as well as their journey to participate in one of our states’ land runs.

On December 28, 1892 Isaac Sherman Arnold married Mary (Minnie) Hill in Illinois. Soon after they were married he moved his wife to Iowa. They had two children whom both died in infancy, a little girl in 1893 and a little boy in 1896.

Minnie Hill and Sherman Arnold

Minnie Hill and Sherman Arnold

In 1893 Minnie’s family, her parents and older sister Margaret (Maggie), came to Oklahoma to take part in the Land Run of 1893, the area known as the Cherokee Strip.  This post card dated September 10th 1893 tells of their plans.

A postcard written to Melvina O. Hill Wright of Butler, Missouri, by her sister Margaret Hill. This card puts the Hill's in Okarche, Kingfisher County, Oklahoma Territory just 6 days before the Cherokee Strip was to open to all non-native pioneers. Margaret indicates she and her father are getting ready to head for the Strip, in hopes of being successful in their claim.

A postcard written to Melvina O. Hill Wright of Butler, Missouri, by her sister Margaret Hill. This card puts the Hill’s in Okarche, Kingfisher County, Oklahoma Territory just 6 days before the Cherokee Strip was to open to all non-native pioneers. Margaret indicates she and her father are getting ready to head for the Strip, in hopes of being successful in their claim.

In 1899 Isaac and Minnie adopted a baby girl, Grace. Soon Isaac and his wife and their  adopted daughter  left Iowa and  traveled to Oklahoma to be closer to her folks and her older sister Margaret. This 1906 map of the Union Township shows land belonging to Margaret Hill.  This must have been the land they acquired during that run.

Union Township 1906, Indian Territory

Union Township 1906, Indian Territory

  The 1906 North Enid Township Map shows the land of Isaac Sherman Arnold. His land is a stone’s throw from Margaret Hill’s land so I am wondering if his land was  acquired by his in-laws during the Land Run of 1893.  Edward Hill passed away in 1909 and his wife Catherine is listed in the 1910 census with her daughter’s family.

This North Enid map places the Arnolds there by 1906

This North Enid map places the Arnolds there by 1906

I put the two township maps together to show just how close the two sections of land were.

1906 Map of North Enid and Union Townships, Pre-Statehood. Indian Territory becomes Oklahoma in 1907

1906 Map of North Enid and Union Townships, Pre-Statehood. Indian Territory becomes Oklahoma in 1907

And, as the story goes… Minnie passed away in 1908 leaving Sherman a widower with their 9-year-old adopted daughter, Grace, to raise and a farm to care for.  I imagine that would be quite a task for a farmer. A single dad with a farm is a handful and maintain a household all along.  Fortunately, according to the map, the school was very close.

Minnie (Hill) Arnold was 42 when she passed away in 1908

Minnie (Hill) Arnold was 42 when she passed away in 1908

In 1909 Isaac married Minnie’s 48-year-old sister Margaret.  Maggie had never been married and always lived with her parents.  Minnie and Sherman raised Grace. She vanishes from all of the census reports in 1920 as Grace Arnold.  However, by process of elimination and a lot of piecing this and that together I believe she married about that time. I believe she married William H. Hole. There is a Grace A. Hole Young buried in the Kremlin cemetery. His family came here from Iowa too. I wonder if the family knew each other prior to their journey?  Grace and William Hole lived in Union Township. I think they probably farmed her aunt/step mom’s land.   Coincidence?  Maybe.  I believe this is our Grace! William died in 1945 so that leaves plenty of time for Grace to remarry.

Margaret (Maggie) Hill was Isaac's second wife the older sister of Minnie.

Margaret (Maggie) Hill was Isaac’s second wife and the older sister of Minnie.

I love old photographs. I could look through them all day even if I don’t know the people. I want to thank Gary Robertson for allowing me to use his family photos for this blog. I was able to contact Mr Robertson through Ancestry and Find-A-Grave. These photos make the stories more personal don’t you think?

Maggie and Isaac Sherman are the couple on the right.

Maggie and Isaac Sherman are the couple on the right.

Catherine Hill passed away in 1915. She was living with her daughter Maggie and her husband (Isaac) and daughter Grace. In 1919 Isaac placed an order with Aladdin for a Pomona. The Pomona was one of Aladdins most popular houses. As you can see from the catalog image below it was quite an attractive bungalow!

Aladdin Pomona from the 1919 catalog

Aladdin Pomona from the 1919 catalog

 

Here is the cover of the only records that exist from the Hattiesburg Mill in 1919, no sales orders were saved.

The cover of the Hattiesburg 1919 Index

The cover of the Hattiesburg 1919 Index courtesy Cindy Catanzaro.

Here is the page of “A’s” from the 1919 Hattiesburg index showing an order for IS Arnold

This is the page of sales of Aladdin homes to customers with a last name beginning with

This is the page of sales of Aladdin homes to customers with a last name beginning with “A” in 1919 and shipped out of Hattiesburg  (Courtesy Cindy Catanzaro)

I just LOVE this next photo.

Margaret Arnold and her sister Emma Moore in front of the Arnold's Aladdin Pomona. You can see that the details match the catalog image! This photo is circa 1940

Margaret Arnold and her sister Emma Moore in front of the Arnold’s Aladdin Pomona. You can see that the details match the catalog image! This photo is circa 1940

Since Isaac’s address is listed in every census as “farm” and as North Enid in every directory I had to use the 1906 territory map as a guide. I often have addresses and when all I have to go by is “farm” I am a little more challenged to find the house.  I was able to take the plat information and locate the property in the Garfield County assessor website.

The Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

The Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

The Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

The Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

The above photos clearly show that the house has been altered.  According to the assessor’s information the house was remodeled in 1988.  My guess is that is when that addition on the second floor was added.  The porch has clearly been changed too.  I know that North Enid has had a couple of tornadoes in the past.  Did this house sustain storm damage and the porch was  rebuilt?  Those huge handsome pillars are gone now.   This view is the opposite side shown in the catalog image above.  I will post the side shown below.  Aladdin gave the option of reversing the house and it is often noted in the actual sales order as well as anything else  special.  This is where that sales order would have come in handy!

1919 Aladdin Pomona Reversed

1919 Aladdin Pomona Reversed

I reversed the floor plan above for easier comparison with how the house was actually built.  The assessor measurements are below for comparison.

Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

Aladdin Pomona ordered by IS Arnold in 1919 is located at 10210 N 42nd St in Enid, Okla

This is the side shown in the assessor photo. Reversed.

BRrrrr, I hope he warmed up by his fireplace and sipped on some hot cocoa and whiskey after shoveling all of that snow!

BRrrrr, that looks cold!  I hope he warmed up by his fireplace and sipped on some hot cocoa and whiskey after shoveling all of that snow!

 

The next few images are from the 1919 Aladdin catalog and show the interior of the Pomona.  Maybe it was the interior images that captured Maggie’s attention. Those diamond muntin windows are very pretty and the Pomona had all diamond muntin windows.

The 1919 catalog shows the living room of the Pomona. I wonder if the furnishings are Homecraft by Aladdin? Homecraft was Aladdin's furniture line.

The 1919 catalog shows the living room of the Pomona. I wonder if the furnishings are Homecraft by Aladdin? Homecraft was Aladdin’s furniture line.

 

I can picture the Arnolds and Mrs Hill around the table at meals.

I have more Aladdin homes in the “Strip” to write about. In the meantime you might be interested in more history of this area. If so do a search for the following topics.
Enid and the Garfield County area was opened during the September 13 1893 Land Run. That area is known as the Cherokee Outlet or the Cherokee Strip.
Enid was named for a character in Lord Tennyson’s ‘Idylls of the King’. Enid was the second most fair lady next to Guinevere.
Enid was originally known as Skeleton Station. The original train station was located in north Enid before the land run. It was moved south and is the reason for the Enid-Pond Creek Railroad War. It is an interesting read itself.
Enid is known as the Wheat Capital of Oklahoma and is the third largest grain storage capacity in the world!
John Wilkes Booth was said to have escaped and eventually landed in Enid, Oklahoma. In 1903 he committed suicide by poison in the Grand Avenue Hotel. But, who knows? It is an interesting read too.
At any rate, Enid has a lot of interesting history! I enjoyed myself researching this house and family.
Do you know of a mail order house in Oklahoma? Do you need help identifying a mail order house anywhere? I can help you with that, just send me a message here.

Special thanks to Gary Robertson for use of his family photos!  You can find the Arnold and Hill family on Ancestry as well as Find-A-Grave.

Correction/addition……….I WAS able to locate the sales order at the Clarke Historical Library, well they located for me upon my request to check again 🙂 They graciously scanned it and emailed me a copy.

This sales order shows that IS Arnold ordered his Pomona without a fireplace. The fireplace was added sometime later.

This sales order shows that IS Arnold ordered his Pomona without a fireplace. The fireplace was added sometime later.

Do you have a bungalow resembling this in your neighborhood? If so email me at searshomes@yahoo.com let me know, I’d love to find another!

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes of Oklahoma, The Cherokee Outlet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Aladdin Pomona in North Enid, Oklahoma

  1. Michael Louthan says:

    Rachel:

    I just re-read this and studied the pictures closely. From 1975 to 1982, I lived in this house and participated in some remodeling. At the time, the pasteur land to the south of the house was leased by Bill Toews, local farmer. The owner was “Grace”, who was quite old and frail; had moved into town to be closer to her family. I never knew her last name. Bill was kind enough to let myself, his son and another friend to live in the home as long as we did some work, remodeling and kept it up. Which we did for 7-8 years. I learned a lot of carpoentry skills here.

    When Grace passed, the house was sold and, by that time, most of us had moved onto our own houses and homes.

    I can probably find you the current owner’s name. And I’d be happy to take a few photos for you. Can you contact me at Mike14k@aol.com

    Regards,

    Mike

    Like

    • Thanks for finding this and answering! I had a feeling that was the correct Grace. I let the family know because they weren’t sure what became of her. Grace Hole Young is buried in Kremlin Cemetery Apr. 5, 1898 – Dec. 7, 1983 . I was able to get the original sales order/receipt after all so I need to update this anyway.
      I will email you. I would LOVE to have some current photos and I am sure the family would love to see those as well. I hope the current owners are interested in this information.

      Like

      • Michael Louthan says:

        You will also be getting a note from the son of Bill Toews. he and his father halped move Grave out of this house and into town. We have some great memories of being 3 young men, living out in the country in this house and playing music. Thanks for giving us some great discussions this evening.

        Like

      • Awesome! I am excited!!!

        Like

  2. Eldon Toews says:

    Hi Rachel,

    My name is Eldon Toews, and I’m a friend of Mike, whose reply is previous to your own above. Four of us musician friends lived in this wonderful old farm house for 7 or 8 years, and created some of life’s best memories while there. What a pleasure it is to see our predecessors, and family of Gracie Hole, as she was known to me for years, later to marry Bill Young. My Dad and I farmed the quarter section for approximately 10 years, and purchased a house in Enid for Grace and Bill to live, in exchange for this lease. The house was a token blessing, and we fixed it up and took good care of the home. I attended 12 yrs of elementary and high school with Grace’s granddaughter, Goldie, in the Kremlin School system. I’ll look forward to passing along your blog info and pictures — she will appreciate this. I’m grateful that someone like yourself is doing such work, and allowing ‘strangers’ like myself to enjoy the fruits of your labor.

    To my knowledge, this home was never considered to be part of North Enid proper, but is actually about 6 miles northeast of the town of North Enid. In those earlier years, even before rural routes with box numbers, a letter would simply be addressed to someone who resided ‘North of Enid’ and their rural carrier would know the homestead and family. Also, the farm located in the Union Township, is also owned by the Hole family, but this is Bill Hole Jr., son of William Hole, and father of my friend Goldie. We’re 60 yrs of age now in 2013, and class of 1971 at Kremlin.

    I could tell you more — perhaps in another blog, and maybe Mike and/or myself can get you some current photos. It’s a nice, very cool old farm house — lots of good stories to go with it.
    My Dad told me many years ago that it was a ‘prefab catalog house’, and now I’m getting to find out some details. A Pomona — Wow!

    Eldon

    Like

    • Thanks for getting it touch with me. I would love some current photos and would be so appreciative. I am sure the family will be happy to have those blanks filled in. They were so kind to let me use their photos in my blog. I will make sure they see this information!
      Thanks ever so much!

      Like

    • Be sure and tell Grace’s grand daughter that she has family who would probably love to hear from her! Let’s see if we can connect them!

      Like

  3. Mark says:

    This is too cool!

    Like

  4. Hello Rachel,
    Well, its now the end of May in 2015 and I’m just getting back to your blog. This is truly some great work you’ve done; not only on the Pamona, but also facilitating the gathering of information on Grace. As you recall, Grace was my grandmother’s 1st cousin. I would love to contact Eldon to get further information on how to contact Goldie so our families can reconnect. Would you mind passing my email address to Eldon? Thanks again for this blog, its wonderful!
    Gary

    Like

    • Hi Gary! It’s good to hear from you! Let me see what I can do. HOPEFULLY Eldon will see this comment and reply back as well.
      I made a trip to Enid last winter to get photos of the houses I have discovered and look for others. I drove treacherous snow packed and icy country roads in my little car to get this house and did so without incident!
      You can see three photos on flickr and if you would like copies, minus my mark, I will be glad to share them with you.
      See photos here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

