A Sears Avalon in Perry, Oklahoma

While google driving around Perry Oklahoma a few years ago I happened upon a Sears Avalon.   And what a sweet Avalon it is! Thanks to one of my college classmates who was kind enough to take photos for me since he lives in that area.

What a beautiful Sears Avalon in Perry, Oklahoma

What a beautiful Sears Avalon in Perry, Oklahoma

 

 

The Sears offered the Avalon from 1920-1926. If you check out Rosemary Thornton’s website you can see several examples of this popular bungalow across the country.

The Avalon from Sears Modern Homes 1926   PERFECT!!!

The Avalon from Sears Modern Homes 1926
PERFECT!!!

 

 

The Avalon in Perry was the home of Anton Louis Dolezal and his wife Sadie and their five children. The best I can tell, using real estate records and the Sanborn Maps, this Avalon was likely built in 1926. Anton passed away in 1929 and his wife Sadie passed away in 1962. I wonder if there are any descendants in or around Perry now?

What a beauty and a PERFECT match!

 

What a beauty and a PERFECT match!

 

 

Here is the Avalon from the Sears Modern Homes 1926 catalog complete with price and specifications.

Sears Avalon 1926

Sears Avalon 1926

 

 

Here is the floor plan enlarged. It doesn’t show the second floor attic space but when finished in there are likely two more bedrooms.

Sears Avalon Floor Plan

Sears Avalon Floor Plan

 

 

In this last photo you can see the right side and a little of the second floor dormer hidden behind the trees. I imagine that second floor came in handy with a family of five children!

 What a beautiful home! I wonder if the owners know it is a Sears kit home?

 

What a beautiful home! I wonder if the owners know it is a Sears kit home?

 

 

Do you know of a Sears Avalon? Do you know of a Sears kit home or any other kit home?   I wonder if there are any more kit homes in Perry?   I drove around via google street view and nothing caught my attention.  If so, you may email me at searshomes@yahoo.com or contact me on facebook here.

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sears Avalon in Perry, Oklahoma

  1. Marilyn says:

    I lived in Perry for 50 years. I do know some of the Dolezal family there. What street is this house located on?

    Like

  2. Rose says:

    What a beautiful house! Based on my research, more than 90% of the people living in these houses didn’t realize what they had until I knocked on their door and told them!

    This discovery of a Sears Avalon is such a gift to the community! What a treasure!

    Like

  3. Marilyn says:

    No, I didn’t see your reply to my comment about John. I guess the administrator of that page deleted the post because the homeowner got a little upset about it.

    Like

  4. Matt says:

    Hello, I am doing a school project on this house and I was wondering if you could send me some pictures of the inside. If you are willing please contact my teacher at coc11@scasd.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

