A Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst in South Orange New Jersey

About a year ago I stumbled on a Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst in South Orange, New Jersey while I was looking for another house. I didn’t find that other house but this Sears Elmhurst more than made up for my disappointment!

The Sears Elmhurst was first offered in the Brick Veneer “Honor Bilt” Homes catalog published in 1929. It was one of eleven models Sears Modern Homes offered as brick veneer. The Elmhurst was last offered in 1933. I have found five Sears Elmhursts in the past few years. View the following images and maybe you have one in your neighborhood!

To enlarge an image click directly on the image.

Sears 1929 Brick Veneer Homes

The Sears 1929 Brick Veneer Homes catalog can be seen here in its entirety!

 

The Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst 1929

The Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst 1929

 

This Sears Elmhurst was built in 1931 in South Orange, New Jersey. I wish that tree wasn't in the way.

This Sears Elmhurst was built in 1931 in South Orange, New Jersey. I wish that tree wasn’t in the way. There’s not much you can do when landscaping is in the way. You are allowed to take photos all day long from a public right of way such as the street but stepping in the yard or on the property is a big no no..
This photo is copyright Geoffrey Wyatt and may not be used without his written permission.

 

The specifications for the Sears Elmhurst show face brick exterior and stucco with half timbers.

The specifications for the Sears Elmhurst show face brick exterior and stucco with half timbers.

 

This Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst's exterior was built with the stucco and half timber gables like the specifications call for but I'd bet that brick is not face brick! Is that gorgeous or what? This photo is copyright of Geoffrey Wyatt and may not be used without his written permission.

This Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst’s exterior was built with the stucco and half timber gables like the specifications call for but I’d bet that brick is not face brick! Is that gorgeous or what?
This photo is copyright of Geoffrey Wyatt and may not be reproduced without his written permission.

 

This is the opposite side shown in the catalog and it's a perfect match to two other Elmhursts I found using testimonials. And how about that brick? WOW! This photo is also copyright of Geoffrey Wyatt and may not be use without his written permission.

This is the opposite side shown in the catalog and it’s a perfect match to two other Elmhursts I found using testimonials. And how about that brick? You’re going to want to click and enlarge this photo just to see the brick work. WOW!
This Sears Elmhurst photo is also copyright of Geoffrey Wyatt and may not be used without his written permission.

 

The first Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst I located was in new York and you may read that blog here!

The second Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst I located can be seen here in this blog. I contacted the homeowner and they phoned me. They were kind enough to send me interior photos but wish to remain anonymous. As excited as researchers get we have to respect those wishes. I am very appreciative of them sending me photos of their beautiful. If you are familiar with the Sears Modern Homes catalogs it is the front door of THIS house that was used on the front of the 1930-1932 catalogs!

My friend Rosemary Thornton who has written several books on not only Sears homes but kit homes, has a couple of wonderful blogs showing the Sears Modern Homes Elmhurst. My favorite is this blog because we get to see the inside! This Sears Elmhurst is in St Louis Missouri.

So, let’s see…..I have three Sears Elmhursts now; Flushing, NY, Indianapolis, Indiana and South Orange NJ. There’s one in Downer’s Grove and Elmhurst Il and Rocky Mount, NC and that beauty in St Louis, Mo! That’s a total of seven. I’m sure there are more out there! Do you have one in your city? If you do please leave me a comment or email me at searshomes@yahoo.com .

You can follow our  finds on facebook if you click here. Most of what I find will never make it to my blog but you can see a few more in my facebook albums since 2009 as well as my flickr albums.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

A very special thanks to Geoffrey Wyatt who is a member of our wonderful Sears Homes Group (since 2009 also)  on facebook.  Not only did he take a little road trip for this house and got all three sides but he took photos of other house on my New Jersey list which I will be soon featuring so keep an eye on my blog! I might just feature a house you recognize! Here’s

ANOTHER Sears Elmurst I found in Pennsylvania.

Sears Elmhurst Pennsylvannia

A Sears Elmhurst in Pennsylvania.

 

If you love the Sears Elmhurst then keep an eye on this flickr album where I upload them.

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

