One Thing Leads To Another…….The Gordon Van Tine 589, “An Ideal 3-Bedroom Bungalow”

While preparing images for my last blog I noticed another testimony on the catalog page at the bottom. I’ve spent hours locating testimonial homes from the various kit home companies as a way to learn the several hundred models…and it works. I have numerous, I have no idea how many, houses from testimonials. I checked my files and I happen to have the house mentioned on the bottom of yesterdays catalog page!

While preparing images yesterday I read the testimony circled at the bottom in red and had hoped it was another 566 to share.

While preparing images yesterday I read the testimony circled at the bottom in red and had hoped it was another 566 to share.

 

I checked my files under 'Robert K Jacoby' testimony to see if I had located it and if so what it was.

I checked my files under ‘Robert K Jacoby’ testimony to see if I had located it and if so what it was.

 

As luck would have it I had located the house but it wasn't a Gordon Van Tine foursquare at all! It was this bungalow that Robert K Jacoby built. So, one thing lead to another......

As luck would have it I had located the house but it wasn’t a Gordon Van Tine foursquare at all! It was this bungalow that Robert K Jacoby built. So, one thing lead to another……

 

In 1924 Robert K Jacoby, a proprietor of a coal store, built or had built a Gordon Van Tine 589. The 589 was an ideal bedroom bungalow for his wife Lillian and their 2 daughters and 2 sons. They needed three bedrooms!

In 1924 Robert K Jacoby, a proprietor of a coal store, built or had built a Gordon Van Tine 589. The 589 was an ideal 3-bedroom bungalow for his wife Lillian and their 2 daughters and 2 sons. They needed three bedrooms!

 

 The Jacoby's ideal 3-bedroom bungalow is still alive and well in Sellersville, Pa. Locating that house helped to remember what the Gordon Van Tine 589 looks like in case I ever encounter one.

The Jacoby’s ideal 3-bedroom bungalow is still alive and well in Sellersville, Pa. Locating that house helped me to remember what the Gordon Van Tine 589 looks like in case I ever encounter one.

 

And so the story goes…one thing leads to another…
Is it any wonder this “hobby” got so out of control? 😉

The 1926 Gordon Van Tine catalog number 589. Recognize it? A search of the internet turns up nothing. There has to be others out there!

The 1926 Gordon Van Tine catalog number 589. Recognize it? A search of the internet turns up nothing. There has to be others out there!

 

Have you seen this ideal bungalow? Is there one lurking in your neighborhood? If so please leave me a comment or email me at searshomes@yahoo.com.

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

