The Van Tine System Homes of Gordon Van Tine

Some time ago Dale Wolicki sent me a 1942 Gordon Van Tine brochure that features special order homes built using the Van Tine System. He told me I could find these houses and write a blog. So, I did and I am! Well, I’m finding all that I can…the later homes are more difficult to find sometimes I have discovered.  I’ll share what I have been finding though.

In my last blog I featured one of these homes in Champaign Illinois. You can read about that here.

A very special thank you to Dale Wolicki for contributing to my hobby 🙂 These images are from the rare brochure he sent me.

The home buyer could have his home planned and built complete, ready to move into using the "Van Tine System" . As easy as buying a car!

The home buyer could have his home planned and built complete, ready to move into using the “Van Tine System”.  As easy as buying a car!

 

Like buying a car...complete, ready to use and at a definite price!

Like buying a car…complete, ready to use and at a definite price!

 

the Van Tine System enabled home buyers to utilize one person from home model or design selection through FHA financing if needed to completion and ready to occupy. No hassles.

The Van Tine System enabled home buyers to utilize one person from home model or design selection through FHA financing if needed to completion and ready to occupy.  One price.   No hassles.

 

Minnie Redfern of Burlington, Iowa was able to buy this lovely brick veneer house using the Van Tine System.

Minnie Redfern of Burlington, Iowa was able to buy this lovely brick veneer house using the Van Tine System.

 

Minnie Redfern's house as it looks today via google screen shot. Minnie lived here and her daughter and son-in-law lived here for a while as well.

Minnie Redfern’s house as it looks today via google screen shot. Minnie lived here and her daughter and son-in-law lived here for a while as well.

 

Two more homes built using the Van Tine System. Left: Arvid Larson of Princeton, Illinois and right: Melvin grove of Davenport, Iowa.

Two more homes built using the Van Tine System.
Left: Arvid Larson of Princeton, Illinois and Right: Melvin Grove of Davenport, Iowa.

 

Arvid and Alice Larson turned to the Van Tine System to build their dream home. Arvid was the manager of a furniture store. In 1940 they had one young son, David. I apologize for this bad image...I think you can make out the brick and rock detail to see it is the right house.

Arvid and Alice Larson turned to the Van Tine System to build their dream home. Arvid was the manager of a furniture store. In 1940 they had one young son, David.
I apologize for this bad image…I think you can make out the brick and rock detail to see it is the right house.

 

This Davenport, Iowa home was built in 1938 per the assessor for Melvin and Virginia Grove. Melvin was a salesman for Crane Plumbing Supplies. The groves had just relocated from Oak Park Illinois. This image is courtesy of the Scott County assessor.

This Davenport, Iowa home was built in 1938 per the assessor for Melvin and Virginia Grove. Melvin was a salesman for Crane Plumbing Supplies. The Groves had just relocated from Oak Park Illinois.
This image is courtesy of the Scott County assessor.

 

That’s four homes now from the Van Tine System brochure. Come back for my next blog to see a few more and more information about the Van Tine System!

Thanks again to Dale Wolicki for sending me more fun and contributing to my addiction!

Do you have a kit home to share or that you need help identifying? If so email me at searshomes@yahoo.com

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

