Gordon Van Tine 605, An Exceptionally Well Planned Suburban Home

I had hoped to continue with at least one more blog yesterday featuring three more homes from the 1942 Van Tine System brochure making it half of them located but I am one short, well…actually I do have it but it’s a bad aerial shot only.  Most of what is left is either rural, farm or MIA.  I had hoped to locate all twenty and my goal was at least half.  At least I have met my goal for that brochure.  However,  I’ll keep looking and hopefully report back with more!

I have spent HOURS looking for those houses and I am frustrated.  So, I’m sharing an easy one in this blog.  I hope you don’t mind.

Another Gordon Van Tine home, first offered in 1919 as far as I can tell from my personal collection, model 605 (aka 703) was an ‘exceptionally well planned suburban home’.  And for Martin O Brown and his wife Lena I would say they agreed!    The Browns were native to Chicago and chose to build their Gordon Van Tine home in the metropolitan area of Chicago, Crystal Lake Illinois.

The Browns had three children, two daughters and one son. Martin was a railway conductor. Maybe he had inspected several loads of Gordon Van Tine lumber while working and was impressed with the quality of their lumber and millwork!

According to this testimony Martin and his wife Lena seemed to be a little concerned at first but evidently they had no problems and were quite happy with their Gordon Van Tine home as were all of their visitors!

According to this testimony Martin and his wife Lena seemed to be a little concerned at first but evidently they had no problems and were quite happy with their Gordon Van Tine home as were all of their visitors!

 

Martin Brown's Gordon Van Tine 605 was very easy to locate. It appears to be in great shape and very well loved doesn't it? What a beautiful home!

Martin Brown’s Gordon Van Tine 605 was very easy to locate. It appears to be in great shape and very well loved doesn’t it? What a beautiful home!

 

Gordon Van Tine 605

Gordon Van Tine 605

 

The floor plan for the Gordon Van Tine 605.

The floor plan for the Gordon Van Tine 605.

 

The testimonial gives me the impression that Martin may have built the home himself and I would say he did a first class job!

The testimonial gives me the impression that Martin may have built the home himself and I would say he did a first class job!

 

The Gordon Van Tine 605 was a very unique home, very distinctive! It was offered for about ten years so I am sure there are a lot more out there. Maybe there’s one in your neighborhood?

To see more Gordon Van Tine 605’s click here and here and here.

Did you see the testimony at the bottom of the page? Come back tomorrow and I’ll tell you what that house in my next blog!

Do you have a kit home to share or that you need help identifying? If so email me at searshomes@yahoo.com

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gordon Van Tine 605, An Exceptionally Well Planned Suburban Home

  1. Pingback: This Is a Universal Favorite…Gordon Van Tine 502 | Oklahoma Houses By Mail

Leave a Reply

