Gordon Van Tine 914, An Early “Tiny-Home”

For a few years I have been seeing a lot of “tiny homes” on the internet and they seem to be quite the rage right now. About six months ago I noticed that “tiny homes” have come to Tulsa, my home town. Late one Wednesday night I was coming home from the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame where I play in a big band and I always pass by a business that sells storage buildings, nice storage buildings. If you are familiar with Tulsa it’s on the SW corner where HWY 169 and HWY 51 intersect. Curiousity got the best of me so I googled it and this is what I found

As I often do with any home, I started imagining what it would be like to live in one of these tiny homes.

While perusing my files and jpeg images looking for my next subject house I came upon a small home from Gordon Van Tine that as far as square footage fits the tiny home description very well! These smaller kit homes are often hard to find and hard to authenticate because they are so common, CLH is how they are often referred to. You can read about the “CLH” by clicking here.

I like the term tiny home better so let me introduce you to the Gordon Van Tine 914, tiny home. Approximately 600 square feet in size…I would call that tiny. In fact, it’s about the size of my three car garage!

This Gordon Van Tine 914 comes with a story, and an interesting story, a new beginning in a new country. So the story goes…

This is the home of Englebert Albert Koch and Martha Maier (Koch). Martha immigrated to the US in 1909 from Slovakland Austria and Albert immigrated from Paderborn Germany in 1912. Soon after their paths crossed and they were married. Albert retained work as a cabinetmaker. So, building this cute little home was probably no trouble at all for him! This home was built in the early-mid 1920's. The assessor reports 1937 but I can date it at least 10 years earlier.

This is the home of Englebert Albert Koch and Martha Maier (Koch). Martha immigrated to the US in 1909 from Slovakland Austria and Albert immigrated from Paderborn Germany in 1912.
Soon after their paths crossed and they were married. Albert retained work as a cabinetmaker. So, building this cute little home was probably no trouble at all for him! This home was built in the early-mid 1920’s. The assessor reports 1937 but I can date it at least 10 years earlier from this photo.

 

These “tiny homes” usually referred to in Gordon Van Tine catalogs as cottages are found in the back of their catalogs. Testimonials for these tiny homes are few and far between. I located this 914 using this photo and a name from 1928.

The Koch's lived in this house for close to 40 years! Albert and Martha never had ay children. In 1927 Martha's half brother, Theodore Lenge immigrated from Germany and lived with the Koch's in their tiny house. Theodore retained work as a cabinetmaker as well.

The Koch’s lived in this house for close to 40 years! Albert and Martha never had any children. In 1927 Martha’s half brother, Theodore Lenge immigrated from Germany and lived with the Koch’s in their tiny house. Theodore retained work as a cabinetmaker as well.

 

I wonder if the current homeowners know the history of their home? I think it's a neat story. If you have an ancestry account you can see the Koch family tree I created. I titled it Koch Family Tree - Gordon Van Tine 914

I wonder if the current homeowners know the history of their home? I think it’s a neat story. If you have an ancestry account you can see the Koch family tree I created. I titled it Koch Family Tree – Gordon Van Tine 914

 

 This is the 914 as seen in the Gordon Van Tine 1926 catalog. It appears in 1923 as number 583. it's a cute cottage.

This is the 914 as seen in the Gordon Van Tine 1926 catalog. It appears in 1923 as number 583.
It’s a cute cottage. And the stories that Albert’s house could tell after 40 years!  For example, by 1942 Albert lost his right hand thumb and forefinger.  I bet he did that at work.  In 1942 he was working at Hadley Furniture Company in Springfield Ma.    Just a hazard of the job!

 

Unfortunately Albert and Martha do not have any immediate descendants but her half brother Theodore Lenge does. Maybe they will find this blog and story!

And, if nothing else you now have a Gordon Van Tine 583/914 example….have you see this house somewhere? If so please contact me at searshomes@yahoo.com.

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

And as of this afternoon I am on twitter!
Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

