This Popular California Bungalow Could Be Anywhere!

Uh-oh. It’s another one of those popular bungalow patterns from California! You might find this bungalow design anywhere. This design was used by kit home companies and it was also published in pattern books and trade journals. You are likely going to need to see the inside to determine what it is. Knowledge of the floor plan and the millwork will help make that decision if you don’t have the opportunity to find stencil or grease pencil marked lumber.  Follow closely! (Enlarge any image by clicking on the image)

I was actually looking for something else, bungalow images I believe…in Pasadena…for some reason. I can’t remember why now. And then I was distracted, a familiar bungalow caught my attention. Not one I was looking for either. There I went!

Happenstance.

I followed the link to a real estate listing in Los Angeles, California. The house I quickly recognized as a Pacific Ready Cut Homes model 385. I was sure, 100% sure as soon as I saw the interior photos.

Who was Pacific Ready Cut Homes? I’ve not featured anything from them in my blog before.  Quickly:

Pacific Ready Cut Homes started in Los Angeles California in late 1908 and formally incorporated in early 1909 as Pacific Portable Construction Company. They manufactured knock-down (portable) houses/buildings. This newspaper clipping is from the Los Angeles Herald March 30, 1909.

Pacific Ready Cut Homes started in Los Angeles California in late 1908 and formally incorporated in early 1909 as Pacific Portable Construction Company. They manufactured knock-down (portable) houses/buildings.
This newspaper clipping is from the Los Angeles Herald March 30, 1909.

 

In 1916 Pacific Ready Cut Homes began offering pre-cut homes. This is one of many advertisements I found dated 1916. This is from the Bisbee Daily Review in Bisbee Az dated July 30, 1916.

In 1916 Pacific Ready Cut Homes began offering pre-cut homes.
This is one of many advertisements I found dated 1916. This is from the Bisbee Daily Review in Bisbee Az dated July 30, 1916.

 

Pacific Ready Cut Homes offered this very popular house in 1919. Where they acquired the blueprints I'm not sure, yet.

Pacific Ready Cut Homes offered this very popular house in 1919.
Where they acquired the blueprints I’m not sure, yet.

 

They even featured it on the cover of their 1919 Pacific Ready Cut Homes catalog!

They even featured it on the cover of their 1919 Pacific Ready Cut Homes catalog!

 

Now, about that house that caught my attention!

Courtesy of real estate listings. I'm sure this house is a model 385. 5906 Tipton Way, Los Angeles, California

Courtesy of real estate listings. I’m sure this house is a model 385.
5906 Tipton Way, Los Angeles, California

 

This photo from the real estate listings sold me. I see millwork from Pacific Ready Cut Homes!

This photo from the real estate listings sold me. I see millwork from Pacific Ready Cut Homes!

 

Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 catalog fireplace mantel and bookcases. Good match!

Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 catalog fireplace mantel and bookcases. Good match!  However, they painted the fireplace tile white.  You can see the original tile hearth.

 

The built in buffet at 5906 Tipton Way Los Angeles, California. Photo courtesy of real estate listings.

The built in buffet at 5906 Tipton Way Los Angeles, California. Photo courtesy of real estate listings.

 

Another great match! This image is also from my Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 catalog.

Another great match! This image is also from my Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 catalog.

 

I bet it was popular! The 1925 Pacific Ready Cut Homes Deluxe Edition catalog featured model 385 on the front as well!

I bet it was popular! The 1925 Pacific Ready Cut Homes Deluxe Edition catalog featured model 385 on the front as well!  BTW, this catalog is beautiful!  The cover is deep red embossed leather.

 

The Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 Model 385 shows more detail in the specifications, lets the buyer know what extras are included with the kit.

The Pacific Ready Cut Homes 1925 Model 385 shows more detail in the specifications, lets the buyer know what extras are included with the kit.

 

As if one isn’t enough to convince… How about TWO? Yes, I “happened” on another 385 in an old real estate listing. Let’s compare those same images and views again.

This Pacific Ready Cut Home Model 385 is at 4900 Lincoln Ave Los Angeles, California. The following images are from the real estate listings.

This Pacific Ready Cut Home Model 385 is at 4900 Lincoln Ave Los Angeles, California. The following images are from the real estate listings.

 

 

This fireplace is a PERFECT match! They even have the book cases minus the doors.

This fireplace is a PERFECT match! They even have the book cases minus the doors.

 

 

And there is that same buffet again!

And there is that same buffet again!

 

To see a lot more photos of the Pacific Ready Cut Home 385 at 5906 Tipton Way, Los Angeles, California click here and you can see the real estate listing.

To see a lot more photos of the 385 at 4900 Lincoln Ave Los Angeles, California click here for the real estate listing.

You might be wondering why you might find this California bungalow anywhere! (Even in Tulsa Oklahoma) Keep reading to see why.

This version of that same bungalow, same photo image even, appeared in Keith's Magazine as one of JW Lindstrom's homes. He was an architect from Minneapolis Mn. The floor plan is very different.

This version of that same bungalow, same photo image even, appeared in Keith’s Magazine as one of JW Lindstrom’s homes. He was an architect from Minneapolis Mn. The floor plan is very different.

 

This image is from a 1919 William Radford catalog. Blue Ribbon design 11345. Same image...different floorplan. Again.

This image is from a 1919 William Radford catalog. Blue Ribbon design 11345. Same image…different floorplan. Again.

 

In 1922 Aladdin Ready Cut Homes out of Bay City, Michigan offered a very similar model called the Norfolk.

In 1922 Aladdin Ready Cut Homes out of Bay City, Michigan offered a very similar model called the Norfolk.

 

And, of course Sears offered a version too! Sears first offered the Del Rey in 1920. Here is the catalog image from 1925.

And, of course Sears offered a version too! Sears first offered the Del Rey in 1920. Here is the catalog image from 1925.

 

And, in 1925 the same California bungalow made the cover of the Sears Modern Homes as their Del Rey. Hey, it worked six years prior for Pacific Ready Cut Homes!

And, in 1925 the same California bungalow made the cover of the Sears Modern Homes as their Del Rey. Hey, it worked six years prior for Pacific Ready Cut Homes!

 

Here is that same design with clipped gables in 1924 Southern Pines Homes, plan no 3002.

Here is that same design with clipped gables in 1924 Southern Pines Homes, plan no 3002.

 

Also, as seen on an undated catalog I have from Long Bell Lumber Company!

Also, as seen on an undated catalog I have from Long Bell Lumber Company!

 

And in Tulsa Oklahoma! Imagine my frustration when I found this house a few years ago. What do I think it is? I think it is from a pattern. I need to see the inside and get a floor plan. As you can see there are as many floor plans as there are versions thus far. The exterior measurements from the assessor site are really of no use for this California bungalow!

And in Tulsa Oklahoma! Imagine my frustration when I found this house a few years ago. What do I think it is? I think it is from a pattern. I need to see the inside and get a floor plan. As you can see there are as many floor plans as there are versions thus far. The exterior measurements from the assessor site are really of no use for this California bungalow!  (photo: Rachel Shoemaker)

 

In Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Pattern? Likely

In Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Pattern? Likely (photo courtesy of assessor)

 

Again, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. One block form the previous and across the street. Likely a pattern too.

Again, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. One block form the previous and across the street. Likely a pattern too.  (photo courtesy of assessor)

 

Have you seen a house like this somewhere? If so please contact me at searshomes@yahoo.com.

You can see other wonderful homes and blog posts of both Rosemary Thornton and me on facebook if you click here.

And, you can join our closed Sears Homes group on facebook too if you want to learn how to recognize kit homes and pattern book homes!

Now on twitter!
Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country, Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Popular California Bungalow Could Be Anywhere!

  1. Pingback: The Del Rey, Another California Bungalow from Sears Modern Homes | Oklahoma Houses By Mail

  2. Pingback: Gordon Van Tine 116, A True Craftsman Bungalow | Oklahoma Houses By Mail

  3. I live in Southern California and my wife and I purchase a bungalow in 1997, The house was built in 1922. I looked in the attic for any markings and unfortunately have not seen anything. I really like to find out about my house, went to C/H and all they had was a permit for an addition way back in 1953, If their is anything that you can help me to explore other methods this will be much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

