A Cosy, Family Home in the Gordon Van Tine 123

Creative Commons License

As promised, I am featuring another ‘rare’ never before seen Gordon Van Tine model. This is another unique looking home. I recognized it immediately when I recently happened upon it!

A practical family home, the exterior design is one of simplicicty in every respect. No dormers or bracket work are grafted on the cornice an roof to add in reality nothing but expense. It is a design which obtains the best possible results in appearance and economy of construction.

A practical family home, the exterior design is one of simplicity in every respect. No dormers or bracket work are grafted on the cornice and roof to add in reality nothing but expense. It is a design which obtains the best possible results in appearance and economy of construction.

 

When I happened upon this house I immediately recognized it! It's just around the corner from the 118 featured in my last blog.

When I happened upon this house I immediately recognized it! It’s just around the corner from the 118 featured in my last blog.

 

 This Gordon van Tine 123 in Davenport, Iowa was the home of Ira Burch, his wife Laura and their three children, Ira, Beatrice and Everett. Ira was a pressman.

This Gordon Van Tine 123 in Davenport, Iowa was the home of Ira Burch, his wife Laura and their three children, Ira, Beatrice and Everett. Ira was a pressman.

 

This catalog image of the Gordon Van Tine 123 is in what I believe to be the catalog published around late 1909 and through 1911. This is the only catalog it appears in so it was only offered for a couple of years. To see the catalog page in full resolution open the image by clicking.

This catalog image of the Gordon Van Tine 123 is in what I believe to be the catalog published around late 1909 and through 1911. This is the only catalog it appears in so it was only offered for a couple of years.

 

 

To see the catalog page in full resolution open the image by clicking.

 

Have you seen this rare and unique model, the Gordon Van Tine 123?   If so, please contact me!  There are three ways to contact me.  By email: searshomes@yahoo.com    You can contact me through Sears Modern Homes on facebook.   Or, you can leave a reply  at the end of this blog.

To see a set of Gordon Van Tine blueprints from a house I identified for someone recently click here!

To see Sears blue prints click here.

To learn more about kit homes and meet other enthusiasts as well as home owners join us in the Sears Homes Group on facebook!

For more information on the Gordon Van Tine Company of Davenport, Iowa visit the website of Dale Wolicki , here.

My friend Rosemary Thornton has featured several Gordon Van Tine homes on her blog.

To see more Gordon Van Tine catalogs online click here.

And, to see the beautiful covers from Gordon Van Tine catalogs click here.

Come back for my next blog to see another early and  rare model, the Gordon Van Tine 129.

I’m still polishing my GVT identification skills and knowledge right now as well as bringing you never seen models.   I’ve not forgotten you Sears or Aladdin.  🙂

Coming soon,  a Gordon Van Tine house, barn and poultry house with documentation, order forms, correspondence letters, vintage photos, construction photos too!   I’m gathering images and info now.

I have several awesome homes to share from blog readers,  a Sears 119 in Iowa comes to mind, a Lewis Vitello that Mark Hardin found, a Henry Wilson bungalow in Nova Scotia that I identified for a reader.  A Wardway Barcelona shared by a reader.  It just never ends!  I love hearing from readers.  searshomes@yahoo.com  Send me your homes and your questions.

Follow me on twitter!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Gordon Van Tine, Kit Homes of Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

