Aladdin Bungalow, The Romeo

Creative Commons License

Featuring an Aladdin Bungalow, The Romeo.  A homey modern type.  Offered by Aladdin 1913-1916 from a borrowed California bungalow design.

Aladdin was a kit home company located in Bay City, Michigan selling kits from 1906 – 1983.

This testimony in my 1915 Aladdin catalog lead me to an Aladdin Romeo built in San Diego.

This testimony in my 1915 Aladdin catalog led me to an Aladdin Romeo built in San Diego, California.

 

The Aladdin Romeo was a modern and homey bungalow design that Aladdin borrowed The Los Angeles Investment Company.

The Aladdin Romeo was a modern and homey bungalow design that Aladdin borrowed from The Los Angeles Investment Company.

 

This image is from my 1913 Aladdin catalog.

 

 The 1915 testimony led me directly to this house. This was the home of Ananias and Susan Boughman.

The 1915 testimony led me directly to this house. This was the home of Ananias and Susan Boughman.

 

The Boughmans lived in this homes from 1914-1918. Susan passed away in March of 1918. Ananias moved out and away. He passed away in 1924.

The Boughmans lived in this home from 1914-1918. Susan passed away in March of 1918. Ananias moved out and away. He passed away in 1924.

 

The Aladdin Romeo had a couple of minor changes in 1915, can you see them? Not just the physical appearance either. This house may be a model built in Bay City, Michigan. I don't know.

The Aladdin Romeo had a couple of minor changes in 1915, can you see them? Not just the physical appearance either. This house may be a model built in Bay City, Michigan. I don’t know.

 

I mentioned that Aladdin likely used a design from Los Angeles Investment Company for the Romeo. Here's that design, 537B. There were often 2-3 floor plans for each design. The 537A is the same floor plan but a slightly different facade.

I mentioned that Aladdin likely used a design from Los Angeles Investment Company for the Romeo. Here’s that design, 537B. There were often 2-3 floor plans and/or facades for each design. The 537A is the same floor plan but a slightly different facade.

 

This is a 537B in Los Angeles California, Deeble Tract I believe. I went through the tracts that LA Investment developed and identified the houses and found the models used in their catalogs. Yeah, I know. I need a hobby. LOL

This is a 537B in Los Angeles California, Deeble Tract I believe. I went through the tracts that LA Investment developed and identified the houses and found the models used in their catalogs.

 

Yeah, I know. I need a hobby. LOL

 

Can you see how frustrating it can be identifying kit homes? So many kit home models were borrowed designs...especially the early bungalows! I have a handful of blogs featuring these houses, just search California bungalow and my blog and they should pull up. I get emails frquently from folks in California who think they have a Sears home and think that the bungalows were inspired by or designed by Sears. Actually, it's vice versa!

Can you see how frustrating it can be identifying kit homes? So many kit home models were borrowed designs…especially the early bungalows! I have a handful of blogs featuring these houses, just search California bungalow and my blog and they should pull up.

 

I get emails frequently from folks in California who think they have a Sears home and think that the bungalows were inspired by or designed by Sears. Actually, it’s vice versa!

 

Well, you’ve got a good idea of what an Aladdin Romeo looks like and a Los Angeles Investment Co 537B. If you know of one or find one let me know and I’ll see if I can figure out which it is…kit or pattern. It’s a pretty distinctive bungalow and should be easy to spot if you happen upon one!

Are you living in a Sears kit home?  Know of one?  Need help identifying one?   If so, please contact me!  There are three ways to contact me.  By email: searshomes@yahoo.com (photos welcome and encouraged)

You can contact me through Sears Modern Homes on facebook.

Or, you can leave a reply  at the end of this blog.

To see two very early Aladdin homes click here. The earliest confirmed Aladdin that I am aware of!

To see two of the earliest Sears homes click here.

To learn more about kit homes and meet other enthusiasts as well as home owners join us in the Sears Homes Group on facebook!

Follow me on twitter!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

