Henry Wilson Number 167 in Nova Scotia

Creative Commons License

A few months ago I received an email asking for help from someone who was researching her home. She thought it might be a kit home but couldn’t find anything that would match. I was told the house was in Nova Scotia. That didn’t rule out a kit home but the first thing that came to my mind was a pattern home. I told her to email me a few photos and I would take a look. I immediately recognized the house! The Nova Scotia bungalow is a good candidate for a Henry Wilson number 167.

 I believe this Nova Scotia bungalow was built from Henry L Wilson plan number 167. Photo copyright Debra Brose

I believe this Nova Scotia bungalow was built from Henry L Wilson plan number 167.

 

Photo copyright Debra Brose

 

This is from my 1907 Henry L Wilson catalog. I think this may be the earliest publication for Henry L Wilson designs. It's the earliest I've seen anyway. The bungalow in Nova Scotia was built reversed, an option offered to homeowners.

This is from my 1907 Henry L Wilson catalog, The Bungalow Book. I think this may be the earliest publication for Henry L Wilson designs. It’s the earliest I’ve seen anyway. The bungalow in Nova Scotia was built reversed, an option offered to homeowners.

 

Click on the image to read that small print and see the catalog page in full resolution.

 

I couldn't help her as far as who built this house or who lived here but I'm pretty sure that this bungalow was built with the plan that Henry L Wilson designed in 1907. It's a good candidate anyway. Wilson's plans were sold throughout the US and Canada. Photo copyright Debra Brose

I couldn’t help her as far as who built this house or who lived here but I’m pretty sure that this bungalow was built with the plan that Henry L Wilson designed in 1907. It’s a good candidate anyway. Wilson’s plans were sold throughout the US and Canada.

 

Photo copyright Debra Brose

 

It looks like the fireplace was omitted. Photo copyright Debra Brose

It looks like the fireplace was omitted.

 

Photo copyright Debra Brose

 

The back of the bungalow with an addition and newly added dormer. Photo copyright Debra Brose

The back of the bungalow with an addition and newly added dormer.

 

Photo copyright Debra Brose

 

 And the view from the deck! Beautiful! Photo copyright Debra Brose

And the view from the deck! Beautiful!

 

Photo copyright Debra Brose

 

To see another Henry L. Wilson bungalow click here.

Are you living in a Sears kit home or a pattern home?   Need help identifying your house?   If so, please contact me!  There are three ways to contact me.  By email: searshomes@yahoo.com (photos welcome and encouraged)

You can contact me through Sears Modern Homes on facebook.

Or, you can leave a reply at the end of this blog.

To learn more about kit homes and meet other enthusiasts as well as home owners join us in the Sears Homes Group on facebook!

Follow me on twitter!

Tulsa Oklahoma Houses by Mail, Sears Homes, Wardway, Aladdin and more

Creative Commons License
Oklahoma Houses By Mail by Rachel Shoemaker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

About Rachel Shoemaker

I've been hooked on finding and or identifying mail order homes since 2008. I'm not picky, kit homes from Sears Modern Homes, Aladdin Ready Cut, Gordon Van Tine, Wardway Homes, all of the major companies as well as the popular pattern and plan book homes built from about 1900 and on. Could you be living in one of these homes? Send me an email: searshomes@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Kit Homes Around the Country, Plan Book Houses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

